Call Us : 1-800-239-3616



Susan Runnels Selected as AAESA's District VIII Alabama NDP

by Susie Ellison | Nov 02, 2017

Robertsdale, Ala:  Susan Runnels, principal of Elsanor School in the Baldwin School System, has been selected as the AAESA District VIII nominee for Alabama’s National Distinguished Principal Award sponsored by Classworks.

“This honor is certainly not a reflection on me, but a reflection on the entire faculty, staff, students, and parents at Elsanor School.  I feel blessed to be a part of such a loving group of people.  As a Lighthouse School through The Leader in Me, we live the habits and expect our students to do so as well.  We try to follow our school motto on a daily basis, “Do unto others as you would have others do unto you.” “Just imagine what the world would be like if we all followed the Golden Rule,” stated Runnels.

All district nominees will be reviewed and narrowed to three by a panel of judges. The top three nominees will have a school visit in February 2018. One overall winner will be chosen and named Alabama’s National Distinguished Principal in spring 2018. The NDP will represent Alabama in the National Principal of the Year program sponsored by National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP) in October 2018.

Thank you to Classwork’s for sponsoring Alabama NDP and honoring principals who have made outstanding contributions to education.

About AAESA: The Alabama Association of Elementary Schools is a membership organization dedicated to serving as an advocate for children while striving to enhance effectiveness in the supervision and administration of elementary and middle schools. AAESA membership is unified with the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP).

About National Distinguished Principal: The NDP program was established in 1984 recognizing elementary and middle-level principals who set high standards for instruction, student achievement, character, and climate for the students, families, and staffs in their learning communities. The national program is sponsored by the National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP). Each state selects one winner from its nominees.

(For more information, please contact Susie Ellison, CLAS Communication Coordinator, at 334.265.3610 or at

# # #

View Full Press Release